Featured Slider

Stacking The Shelves #148/Sunday Post #80

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and Reading Reality as a way to share all the books we got during the week!

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. Its a weekly post to showcase what books you got, recap the week, and talk about what will be coming up this week on the blog!


So this is what I've treated myself to since starting my job. I was super stoked to find The Cruel Prince B&N edition in stores again, so I grabbed a copy so it matches my Wicked King and soon to be released Queen of Nothing. 

Stacking The Shelves #147/Sunday Post #79

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and Reading Reality as a way to share all the books we got during the week!

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. Its a weekly post to showcase what books you got, recap the week, and talk about what will be coming up this week on the blog!


Five Dark Fates Beacon Book Box:
  • Blanket with Quote
  • Signed Copy of Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns #4) by Kendare Blake
  • Book Sleeve (Naturalist Themed)
  • Pillow Case (Poisoner Themed)
  • Enamel Pin
  • 4 Art Prints
  • Tapestry with Mirabella, Arsinoe & Katharine
  • Signed & Numbered Poster
  • Queen Mirabella Candle: Rain, Fire & Woodsmoke Scented 
  • Gillespie's Bookshop Soap Bar 
  • Priestess Luca's Chamomile Tea
Ok guys, technically I paid for this back in April, but it came in last week. Seriously! It's amazing! The blanket is so soft and comfy. I loved the themed stuff. There were candles for each of the sisters and you randomly got one. So I got a queen Mirabella one and it smells so good. Everything thats scented in this box smells amazing! And the art prints, pin and poster are just gorgeous! I'm seriously so so happy I decided to get this box cuz everything in it is amazing! I'll post more pictures of everything up close on the blogs instagram. 

August Wrap-Up & September TBR

So August has been my best reading month so far. Not nearly close to where my reading is usually at, but its getting back there. I did enjoy most of the books I read this month. So that's some good news.

Books I Read In August:


I finally got caught up on the Miss Peregrine's series! And I really enjoyed books 3 and 4 more than the first two. I don't know what it was, but I was just super in the mood for them and really enjoyed them. I also finally read one of my ARCs. Guys, you know how far behind I am. So this is a good thing. Lol. 


I finally read Night of Cake & Puppets! This book has been on my kindle for years. So yeah. Kinda happy I finally got around to finishing the series out. Mik & Zuzana's story was freaking adorable!! I also finally got around to reading Red Rising, which we all know I picked up last year. And seriously. New fave series here, I can already tell. I LOVED it so much. Such a good story. And last but not least, Heart of Iron. Which I DNF'ed. I really wanted to like this. A retelling of Anastasia in space? Definitely sounded good. But when I actually got to reading it, I was incredibly bored. So I ended up DNFing it. First DNF of the year. But hey, it happens. 

New Releases: Week of September 3, 2019

Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns #4)
Author: Kendare Blake
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: September 3, 2019

After the battle with Katharine, the rebellion lies in tatters. Jules’s legion curse has been unbound, leaving her out of her mind and unfit to rule. Arsinoe must find a cure, even as the responsibility of stopping the ravaging mist rests heavy on her shoulders, and her shoulders alone. Mirabella has disappeared.

Queen Katharine’s rule over Fennbirn remains intact—for now. But her attack on the rebellion exacted a high price: her beloved Pietyr. Without him, who can she rely upon when Mirabella arrives, seemingly under a banner of truce? As oldest and youngest circle each other, and Katharine begins to yearn for the closeness that Mirabella and Arsinoe share, the dead queens hiss caution—Mirabella is not to be trusted.

In this conclusion to the Three Dark Crowns series, three dark sisters will rise to fight as the secrets of Fennbirn’s history are laid bare. Allegiances will shift. Bonds will be tested, and some broken forever.
The fate of the island lies in the hands of its queens.

Eclipse The Skies (Ignite The Stars #2)
Author: Maura Milan
Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company
Publication Date: September 3, 2019

Ia Cōcha never thought she’d be working for the Olympus Commonwealth. But that was before she found out her trusted brother Einn was trying to tear apart the universe. Now, Ia, the Blood Wolf of the Skies, has agreed to help the Royal Star Force on one condition: when she finds him, she gets to kill Einn herself.

Brinn Tarver has just come to terms with her Tawny identity when the public lashes out against her people, crushing her family. At her breaking point, she starts to question everything she believes in—including Ia.

After the death of his mentor, Knives Adams is doing his best to live up to a role he didn’t ask for as Aphelion’s new headmaster. Still, with each new step deeper into war, he feels torn between his duties and the pull of Ia’s radical—sometimes criminal—ideas.

As they fight to keep darkness from eclipsing the skies, their unpredictable choices launch this breathtaking sequel to explosive new heights.

The Girl The Sea Gave Back
Author: Adrienne Young
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: September 3, 2019

The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep.

For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols and staves inked over every inch of her skin mark her as one who can cast the rune stones and see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east bury their age-old blood feud and join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse.

For the first time in generations, the leaders of the Svell are divided. Should they maintain peace or go to war with the allied clans to protect their newfound power? And when their chieftain looks to Tova to cast the stones, she sets into motion a series of events that will not only change the landscape of the mainland forever but will give her something she believed she could never have again—a home.

Stacking The Shelves #146/Sunday Post #78

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and Reading Reality as a way to share all the books we got during the week!

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. Its a weekly post to showcase what books you got, recap the week, and talk about what will be coming up this week on the blog!


I signed up for the blog tour in January, so the access to it on Netgalley was granted this week! Looking forward to getting into this! 

New Releases: Week of August 27, 2019

These Divided Shores (Stream Raiders #2)
Author: Sara Raasch
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: August 27, 2019

The thrilling sequel to These Rebel Waves—full of deadly magic, double crosses, and a revolution—from Sara Raasch, the bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series.

As a child, she committed unforgivable acts to free Grace Loray from King Elazar of Argrid. Now Elazar’s plan to retake the island has surpassed Lu’s darkest fears: he’s holding her and his son, Ben, captive in an endlessly shifting prison, forcing them to make a weapon that will guarantee Elazar’s success. Escape is impossible—unless Lu becomes the ruthless soldier she hoped never to be again.

Vex failed to save Lu and Ben—and that torments him as much as his Shaking Sickness. With the disease worsening, Vex throws himself into the rebellion against Argrid. The remaining free armies are allied with the stream raider syndicates—and getting them to cooperate will take a strength Vex thought burned on a pyre six years ago.

Imprisoned, betrayed, and heartbroken, Ben is determined to end his father’s rampage. Watching Elazar sway the minds of Grace Loray as he did those of Argrid, Ben knows he has to play his father’s game of devotion to win this war. But how can a heretic prince defeat the Pious God?

As armies clash and magic rises, Lu, Vex, and Ben will confront their pasts . . . or lose their futures forever.

Song of the Abyss (Tower of Winds #2)
Author: Makiia Lucier
Publisher: HMH BYR
Publication Date: August 27, 2019

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.

Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.

But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors--her captain, her countrymen--have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.

Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising (Red Rising #1)
Author: Pierce Brown
Publisher: Del Ray
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Pages: 382
Format: Paperback/Own

"I live for the dream that my children will be born free," she says. "That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them."

"I live for you," I say sadly.

Eo kisses my cheek. "Then you must live for more."

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity's overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society's ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies... even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.